Mercury Rev ‘The Delta Sweete Revisited’, out now

The long awaited album by Mercury Rev; ‘Bobbie Gentry’s The Delta Sweete Revisited’, is released today via Bella Union and Partisan Records on CD, Vinyl and digital. The album is a re-imagining of Bobbie Gentry’s 1968 masterpiece and features an incredible gust list of guest vocalists including Hope Sandoval (Mazzy Star), Norah Jones, Margo Price, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucinda Williams, Vashti Bunyan, Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), Lætitia Sadier (Stereolab), Beth Orton, Marissa Nadler, Kaela Sinclair (M83), Susanne Sundfør, Carice van Houten (Game of Thrones) udiscover review the album, contrasting it with Bobbie’s original release.

Financial Times feature on ‘The Delta Sweete Revisited’

The Financial Times ran a great piece about Bobbie and the forthcoming Mercury Rev album ‘The Delta Sweete Revisited’which you can read online here.

Listen to highlights from the forthcoming ‘Delta Sweete – Revisited’ by Mercury Rev

Mercury Rev, pay tribute to Bobbie on The Delta Sweete Revisited, their song-for-song remake of her masterpiece second album featuring a seriously amazing cast of guest vocalists, including Hope Sandoval, Rachel Goswell (Slowdive), Margo Price, Phoebe Bridgers, Lucinda Williams, Vashti Bunyan, Laetitia Sadier (Stereolab), Beth Orton, Marissa Nadler and more. In the run up to release, fans can listen to a selection of tracks in advance, including Norah Jones, who lends her voice to the album’s opening track, ‘Okolona River Bottom Band’, which you can listen to here, Norwegian singer-songwriter Susanne Sundfør interprets ‘Tobacco Road’ which originally opened side 2, and whilst it doesn’t feature on the original album, Lucinda Williams tackles Bobbie’s classic ‘Ode To Billie Joe’ here. Mercury Rev re-imagine the album in their own inimitable style, putting the accent on sweeping strings and touches of gothic psychedelia entirely complimentary to Bobbie’s original vision. The album is out 8th of February on Partisan records.